Hovatek Forum DEVELOPMENT Android rooting and disabling AVB
Try our Online TWRP Builder..its free!
Can't login? Please, reset your password.


rooting and disabling AVB

rooting and disabling AVB

Pages (2): 1 2 Next
moiz_faisal135
moiz_faisal135
moiz_faisal135
Junior Member
15
18-08-2022, 03:02 AM
#1



Hello I am trying to root my device which is Vivo Y55 which was released in 2022. I am new to rooting and I wanted to root my device. First I downloaded my device's firmware and extracted the boot.img from it. I also extracted vbmeta and vbmeta_system.img from the stock rom. after launching adb, I put my device in fastboot mode and first disabled vbmeta and vbmeta_system using the commands you provided, it was done successfully, then i flashed the patched boot image from magisk and that was also done successfully, but after rebooting always this message shows up your device is corrupt and it will not boot. i dont know why this happens but i really want to root my device can anyone help me ? Sad
justshez
justshez
justshez
Intern
1,801
21-08-2022, 10:57 AM
#2
(18-08-2022, 03:02 AM)moiz_faisal135 Hello I am trying to root my device which is Vivo Y55 which was released in 2022. I am new to rooting and I wanted to root my device. First I downloaded my device's firmware and extracted the boot.img from it. I also extracted vbmeta and vbmeta_system.img from the stock rom. after launching adb, I put my device in fastboot mode and first disabled vbmeta and vbmeta_system using the commands you provided, it was done successfully, then i flashed the patched boot image from magisk and that was also done successfully, but after rebooting always this message shows up your device is corrupt and it will not boot. i dont know why this happens but i really want to root my device can anyone help me ? Sad
Is your bootloader unlocked?
If the firmware you downloaded is of the same firmware build currently installed on your phone then flashback the stock boot.img to fix device
This post was last modified: 21-08-2022, 11:03 AM by justshez.

Note!
We have a reply schedule for Free Support. Please upgrade to Private Support if you can't wait.
justshez
justshez
justshez
Intern
1,801
21-08-2022, 10:59 AM
#3
(21-08-2022, 10:57 AM)Abdulakeem14
(18-08-2022, 03:02 AM)moiz_faisal135 Hello I am trying to root my device which is Vivo Y55 which was released in 2022. I am new to rooting and I wanted to root my device. First I downloaded my device's firmware and extracted the boot.img from it. I also extracted vbmeta and vbmeta_system.img from the stock rom. after launching adb, I put my device in fastboot mode and first disabled vbmeta and vbmeta_system using the commands you provided, it was done successfully, then i flashed the patched boot image from magisk and that was also done successfully, but after rebooting always this message shows up your device is corrupt and it will not boot. i dont know why this happens but i really want to root my device can anyone help me ? Sad
If the firmware you downloaded is of the same firmware build currently installed on your phone then flashback the stock boot.img to fix device
Then for root first disable severity using the  method 3 @ https://www.hovatek.com/forum/thread-32719.html then flash patched boot.img of the same firmware build installed on your device
This post was last modified: 21-08-2022, 11:05 AM by justshez.

Note!
We have a reply schedule for Free Support. Please upgrade to Private Support if you can't wait.
moiz_faisal135
moiz_faisal135
moiz_faisal135
Junior Member
15
21-08-2022, 11:35 AM
#4
So like method 3 is flashing vbmeta, so like do I have to flash the empty vbmeta you provided in the link ? Will it work, I'm just scared like I don't want my device to get in a bootloop, that scares me  Sad
maxpayne
maxpayne
maxpayne
Intern
3,601
22-08-2022, 10:38 AM
#5



(21-08-2022, 11:35 AM)moiz_faisal135 So like method 3 is flashing vbmeta, so like do I have to flash the empty vbmeta you provided in the link ? Will it work, I'm just scared like I don't want my device to get in a bootloop, that scares me  Sad

Flash back stock vmeta then using your stock vbmeta, run the command

Code:

fastboot --disable-verity --disable-verification flash vbmeta vbmeta.img

Note!
We have a reply schedule for Free Support. Please upgrade to Private Support if you can't wait.
moiz_faisal135
moiz_faisal135
moiz_faisal135
Junior Member
15
22-08-2022, 11:01 AM
#6
(22-08-2022, 10:38 AM)maxpayne
(21-08-2022, 11:35 AM)moiz_faisal135 Right now my phone is working perfectly fine, I put it in recovery mode and reinstalled the software, when I do get back home I will flash the stock vbmeta, should I also flash the vbmeta_system ? It's also present in my stock rom, you know I did these exact same steps I flashed vbmeta and vbmeta system and then flashed the patched boot image from magisk but when I rebooted the system it shows the corruption message which I believe happened because disabling DM verity didn't succeed, I honestly don't know, should I only then disable vbmeta and vbmeta system and reboot ? 

Flash back stock vmeta then using your stock vbmeta, run the command

Code:

fastboot --disable-verity --disable-verification flash vbmeta vbmeta.img
kelvinchinedu
kelvinchinedu
kelvinchinedu
Contributor
1,358
22-08-2022, 07:15 PM
#7
U can not just download your phone firmware and extract and use the boot and vbmeta in it,it doesn't work that way,u can only use the boot image from backup or same build and for vbmeta u can only use empty vbmeta and u may in some sceneros unlock the then bootloader
moiz_faisal135
moiz_faisal135
moiz_faisal135
Junior Member
15
22-08-2022, 11:04 PM
#8
(22-08-2022, 07:15 PM)kelvinchinedu This is all new for me honestly but that won't stop me from rooting, previously I was an apple user and I loved jailbreaking my device, I thought rooting android would be easy as well but it's complicated, I was reading on XDA forums that you need to download your device stock rom and extract your device boot.img and vbmeta from it and disable it from the given commands, now your saying we need to use boot.img from some sort of backup, and for vbmeta your saying it needs to be empty, but on hovatek forums it was written some devices won't react well with empty vbmeta so you can use stock vbmeta as well, can you please guide me and tell me what I should do now ? 
moiz_faisal135
moiz_faisal135
moiz_faisal135
Junior Member
15
23-08-2022, 12:15 AM
#9
(22-08-2022, 07:15 PM)kelvinchinedu I was also reading you can also sign vbmeta, how does that work ?
moiz_faisal135
moiz_faisal135
moiz_faisal135
Junior Member
15
23-08-2022, 06:59 AM
#10
(22-08-2022, 10:38 AM)maxpayne
(21-08-2022, 11:35 AM)moiz_faisal135 i have tried using this command using stock vbmeta and it still results in corruption error sadly 

Flash back stock vmeta then using your stock vbmeta, run the command

Code:

fastboot --disable-verity --disable-verification flash vbmeta vbmeta.img
Pages (2): 1 2 Next
Users browsing this thread:
 1 Guest(s)
Users browsing this thread:
 1 Guest(s)
YtWhTl